Not just Ishan Kishan & Shreyas Iyer, but these 5 players contract also Terminated by BCCI

On Wednesday i.e. 28th February evening, BCCI announced India’s Men cricket team central contracts for session 2023-2024. While players like Mohd. Siraj, Shubham Gill, KL Rahul earn promotions, on other hand Ishan Kishan & Shreyas Iyer lost their contracts due to negligence of not playing domestic cricket. 

BCCI also gave strict warning to remaining players for playing domestic cricket when they are not on national duty at the end of release.

However, a total of 7 players lost their central contracts including Ishan & Iyer. Some of the names were definitely shocking by looking at their performance, age & stats. 

Let’s discuss these players briefly.

#1 Yuzvendra Chahal


Even today Chahal is considered as the world’s finest leg spinner. However, the past year has not gone well for him as he was dropped from the Indian cricket team from every format.

Now Chahal’s contract is terminated by the BCCI. He was in the C category during the 2022-2023 session.

#2 Cheteshwar Pujara

Cheteshwar Pujara

Pujara, also famous as “WALL” among cricket fans, lost his BCCI contract too. Surprisingly he was in B category last year, but now his contract is terminated. Please note that, he was dropped from the Indian Test cricket team after WTC final 2023.

#3 Deepak Hooda

Deepak Hooda

Deepak Hooda who was considered as Virat Kohli replacement in T20s lost his central contract too. He was in the C category last year. His poor performance in T20Is is the possible reason behind his termination

#4 Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan

After losing his position from the Indian cricket team for more than a year, Dhawan’s contract was destined to be terminated. Dhawan has not appeared in any India match in the last 1-2 years. 

#5 Umesh Yadav

Umesh Yadav

Like Pujara, Umesh last played for India in the WTC final 2023. After losing his position from the team, Umesh Yadav central contract was terminated. Notably Umesh was in C category during 2022-2023 season.

5 Players Earned Promotion

  • KL Rahul: B to A Category
  • Mohd. SIraj: B to A Category
  • Shubman Gill: B to A Category
  • Kuldeep Yadav: C to B Category
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal: B Category {Generally C is assigned to youngsters}

#Ishan #Kishan #Shreyas #Iyer #players #contract #Terminated #BCCI

Leave a Comment